News & Events

Meetings and Talks for  2024
Monday 8th January – David Gold – “Lady Mary Wortley Montague”
Monday 12th February – John White- “From Rags to Uniforms and Suits”
Monday 11th March -John Sadler – “The Wars of the Roses”
Wednesday 20th March – Annual Dinner – 6pm Start
Monday  8th April – Dave Strother -” Views of Hadrian’s Wall from West to East”
Monday 13th May – Geoff Hughes – “Trains and Bridges”
Monday 10th June – Robert Moon – “Elizabeth the Great”
Monday 8th July – Malcolm Byrne – “WWII – The European Theatre”
Monday 12th August – Terry Took – “The Ups and Downs of a North Sea Pilot”
Monday 9th September – Dr Bob Pullen – “Awake, Sleep, and Dreams”
Monday 14th October – Barry Mead “Monkey Business at a Medieval Abbey”
Monday 11th November – Peter Bates – “Sunbeam Motorcycle”
Monday 9th December – Chrismas Even with Seasonal Refreshments

About Our Club
We aim to promote friendship and service within the village of Ponteland and the surrounding area. Members are drawn from all walks of life and backgrounds, irrespective of race, colour or religion, and membership is open to all gentlemen over the age of 55.

The Club meets on the second Monday of each month in St Mary’s Parish Centre, Thornhill Road, Ponteland NE20 9PZ  The Parish Centre is opposite the entrance to the Blackbird car park on Thornhill Road. (If the second Monday is a Bank Holiday the meeting will be moved).

We start to gather at 2.15pm and the meeting begins at 2.30pm prompt. Each month there is a guest speaker and a wide range of interesting subjects are covered. Light refreshments follow. We are an informal club: members attend when they wish, and we don’t expect apologies for absence. There isn’t a dress code, but many members wear smart casual clothes. The membership fee is a very reasonable £25 a year.

We extend a warm welcome to all visiting gentlemen over the age of 55. If you would like to come along and find out what the Club has to offer, you don’t need to tell anyone in advance. Just turn up before the start of the meeting.

There are two or three outings a year to a variety of local and regional venues. The highlight of the year is our “Annual Dinner & Ladies Night”, which is usually held in March at Ponteland Golf Club, and is accompanied by suitable entertainment.

Get in touch with us if you’re interested in joining.